Summer Blockbusters ’17: Hotly Anticipated

The Summer is fast approaching and with the arrival of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, the blockbuster season has officially begun! Here are my top 10 most anticipated films of the Summer.


 

10. Baywatch

Yes, that’s right. I’m looking forward to Baywatch! It doesn’t happen often, but every once in awhile, I like a mindless, tits, pecs and ass in-your-face movie that is inherently dumb but makes me laugh like a deranged hyena. The fact that Dwayne Johnson and Zac Efron are in the film makes it slightly more appealing as I find them both quite funny. It’ll probably be bad. I will definitely laugh (I laughed at the trailer) so, mindless, dumb shit, here we come!

 


 

9. Baby Driver

Personally, the main appeal of Baby Driver is the cast. I, honestly, would not be as interested in the film if it wasn’t for the cast and the fantastic first trailer that recently dropped. I’m not the biggest Edgar Wright fan (shocking!) despite my love for Shaun of the Dead. However, the trailer, the cool premise and brilliant casting decisions have convinced me this is a film worth a cinema trip.

 


 

8. The Lost City of Z

I’ve always been fascinated by Percy Fawcett so that is the main attraction for me here. Hunnam’s casting and the recent glowing reviews have placed this higher on my list.

 


 

7. American Assassin 

Normally, a spy/assassin film wouldn’t be on my Summer blockbuster list but Dylan O’Brien as the lead definitely peaked my interest. I’ve watched O’Brien for years on Teen Wolf and he’s always been fantastic on the show so I’m really looking forward to seeing him as the lead. The trailer looks interesting and I’m so happy that Michael Keaton is back.

 


 

6. Atomic Blonde

Charlize Theron as a female John Wick. Sounds awesome! Trailer is great, cast is fantastic. Main appeal, for me, however, is McAvoy who looks like he’s having a blast! If it’s anything like the John Wick films, it’ll be a lot of fun.

 


 

5. Dunkirk

Tom Hardy, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance and Kenneth Branagh. A war film directed by Christopher Nolan with a score by Hans Zimmer. This really needs no explanation.

 


 

4. Spiderman: Homecoming

Tom Holland’s Spidey was undoubtably the breakout star of Captain America: Civil War and, with the inclusion of Downey’s Stark, this looks set to be a fresh take on Peter Parker’s tired origin tale. Perhaps, after all these years, they’ll finally get Spiderman right (although they kinda already did that with Sam Raimi’s Spiderman 1 & 2!) Downey’s involvement does skyrocket the anticipation levels further.

 


 

3. Alien: Covenant

My brother and I are among the rare few who actually enjoyed Prometheus and as a huge Alien fan, I’m always incredibly excited for a new entry to the franchise. I’m glad Ridley Scott’s back in the director’s chair and the new cast is great, especially the addition of Billy Crudup. Michael Fassbender back as David is the best part however. Let’s hope for another soon-to-be classic!

 


 

2. Kingsman: The Golden Circle

Kingsman: The Secret Service was one of my favourite films of 2014. The trailer is brilliant and using Sinatra is always a good call. I’m incredibly excited to see Jeff Bridges and Julianne Moore and the inclusion of Elton John is interesting. However, I’m not sure of the casting of Halle Berry. We’ll have to wait and see on that one. Let’s pray Matthew Vaughn can deliver a sequel even better than the first.

 


 

1. Wonder Woman

Finally! Wonder Woman is on the big screen. It’s taken god knows how long, but it has finally happened. After the not-so-wonderful Batman v Superman and Suicide Squad, DC is in desperate need of a win, and Wonder Woman appears to be the one most likely to give it to them. Let’s hope DC finally has a hit on their hands and that fans of the Amazonian warrior can toast to a great film. *pray hands emoji*

 

One thought on “Summer Blockbusters ’17: Hotly Anticipated

Leave a Reply

